Wilkin re-elected commission board president

Commissioners establish rules for public comment at meetings

By Angela Shepherd - ashepherd@civitasmedia.com


In an organizational meeting on Monday held by the Highland County Board of Commissioners, Shane Wilkin was re-elected board president, a position he has held since 2009.

Commissioner Tom Horst will also remain as vice president as he begins his final year on the board. Horst said previously he will not be seeking re-election when his term is up in December.

Established at Monday’s meeting were rules on public comment during regular and special meetings. According to the resolution, those rules are: While the board welcomes public comment, “comments will be entertained on topics and business that have been discussed at that day’s meeting;” those wishing to speak to the board “on other topics” will get a 10-minute session so long as the information to be discussed has been provided to the board’s clerk by noon the day before the meeting; and that “other comments and discussion regarding county business, but not relevant to the current meeting, will be welcomed by the commissioners individually after the meeting is adjourned.”

Resolutions passed on Monday in regard to the annual meeting included: the rehiring of county employees; the setting of the value of stock killed by dogs to 50 percent of market value; the appointment of Horst to the Joint Solid Waste Management District Policy Committee; the appointment of the Community Development Block Grant (GDBG) complaint procedure committee; the appointment of commissioner Jeff Duncan to the Ohio Valley Resource Conservation and Development Council (OVRC&D); established $5,000 threshold for county blanket purchase orders; the appointment of Wilkin as official representative and Horst as alternate to the County Commissioners Association of Ohio (CCAO); the appointment of Larry Nartker as Highland District Library trustee; the appointment of Mike Rector to executive committee of the OVRC&D; the appointment of Chuck Taylor as County Risk Sharing Authority (CORSA) Loss Control Coordinator; and established that each Wednesday at 8:30 a.m. as when the board of commissioners will meet in regular session.

Reach Angela Shepherd at 937-393-3456, ext. 1681, or on Twitter @wordyshepherd.

Commissioners establish rules for public comment at meetings

By Angela Shepherd