SSCC Highland County honors lists

Submitted story

Southern State Community College has released its president’s and dean’s list for academic excellence for the spring semester 2017.

To be eligible for the president’s list, a student must maintain a 4.0 grade point average while carrying a specific number of academic credit hours. Those who achieve the dean’s list are full-time students who have earned at least a 3.5 grade point average out of a possible 4.0.

Chartered in 1975, Southern State Community College offers associate degree programs, certificate programs, bachelor’s degree completion through on-site partnership agreements, adult basic literacy courses, and workforce training programs. With four campus locations – Hillsboro, Washington C.H., Wilmington and Mt. Orab – Southern State provides close-to-home convenience and a supportive community experience. Delivering on its mission to provide an affordable, accessible, high-quality education, Southern State offers flexible scheduling with day, evening, weekend, online and hybrid courses, and a tuition rate that is one of the lowest in the state.

Named to the president’s List from Highland County are Ashleigh Baucom of Hillsboro, Jeffrey Beery of Hillsboro, Ryan Bradley of Hillsboro, Whitney Broughton of Hillsboro, Hanorah Campbell of New Vienna, Dustin Caudill of Hillsboro, Makayla Creed of Lynchburg, Conner Ditmer of Hillsboro, Christopher Gallimore of Hillsboro, Logan Germann of Sardinia, Britton Haines of Hillsboro, Kennedy Harless of Hillsboro, Grace Hauke of Sardinia, Tammy Henry of Winchester, Madison Hopkins of Hillsboro, Hilary Jordan of Hillsboro, Madison Lehr of Hillsboro, Breanna Lengefeld of Hillsboro, Laura Lovlie of Hillsboro, Jacob Magie of Mt. Orab, Tenikko Pennington of Lynchburg, Melissa Rust of Hillsboro, Leah Seitz of Greenfield, Janice Smith of Hillsboro, Hope Tira of Hillsboro, Carrie Trabue of New Vienna, Matthew Warne of Lynchburg, Raymond Whiting of Hillsboro, and Emily Young of Hillsboro.

Named to the dean’s list from Highland County are Zachary Basford of Hillsboro, Salena Brown of Hillsboro, Jamie Caplinger of Hillsboro, Chase Colliver of Hillsboro, Heather Cook of Sardinia, Andrew Davis of Hillsboro, Jason Dick of Hillsboro, Angel Duffey of Hillsboro, Katie Estell of Lynchburg, Dustin Francis of Hillsboro, Chelsi Hacker of Mt. Orab, Michael Hannah of Hillsboro, Megan Hardesty of Hillsboro, Abigail Haught of Hillsboro, Ruth Haynes of Hillsboro, Kaitlan Hollon of Hillsboro, Lauren Jones of Hillsboro, Olivia Mitchell of Leesburg, Morgan Nelson of Greenfield, Keyara Oaks of Lynchburg, R. Travis Reed of Hillsboro, Erin Roberts of Greenfield, Christian Schafer of Hillsboro, Cody Seitz of Greenfield, Whitney Seitz of Hillsboro, Jordan Siegler of Hillsboro, Cory Snider of Lynchburg, Michelle Swallen of Lynchburg, Kerstin Thornburgh of Hillsboro, Seth Walker of Hillsboro, Quinn Walker of Hillsboro, and Rose Wible of Hillsboro.

To learn more, call 1-800-628-7722, email [email protected] or visit

Submitted by Kris Cross, SSCC director of public relations.

Submitted story