Call for hall of fame, student-athletes

Times-Gazette seeking nominations for 8th annual banquet

By Jeff Gilliland - [email protected]

The Times-Gazette is seeking nominations for its 8th annual Highland County Scholar-Athlete Award and its 2017 Highland County Athletic Hall of Fame class.

Nominations for the Scholar-Athlete Award can be made by any varsity head coach in Highland County, including cheerleading coaches. Head coaches can nominate one student-athlete for each sport they coached. All nominees and the coach who nominated them will be guests of The Times-Gazette at a dinner/banquet scheduled for 6 p.m. Thursday, June 22 at the Ponderosa Banquet Center in Hillsboro.

Coaches can pick up nomination forms from their respective athletic directors.

All the nominees will be recognized at the banquet, where an overall winner that will receive a $200 scholarship and a plaque from The Times-Gazette will be announced.

The nominees must have a minimum grade point average of 3.0 and have lettered in at least one varsity sport during their senior year. They will be judged on their academic and athletic achievements, as well as their community service. Coaches are reminded that the nominees are judged largely on their nomination form, so as much information as possible should be included from all three areas.

Nomination forms must be returned to The Times-Gazette no later than Sunday, June 11. They can be dropped off or mailed to The Times-Gazette, 108 Gov. Trimble Place, Hillsboro, Ohio 45133; or emailed to [email protected]

Also honored at the banquet will be The Times-Gazette 2017 Highland County Athletic Hall of Fame inductees.

Nominations are also being accepted for the hall of fame and can be submitted to the above addresses. They are due by Friday, May 19. Once again, nominations should contain as much information as possible about the nominee’s athletic career at the high school and collegiate levels, as well as their contributions to athletics following their school days.

“The Highland County Athletic Hall of Fame has, in a short time, become a meaningful tribute to our most accomplished sports heroes of the past, as well as a way to recognize some of the highest-achieving student-athletes of the present. The Times-Gazette is proud to once again sponsor this event,” Times-Gazette Publisher and Editor Gary Abernathy said.

The banquet is open to the public. The nominating coaches, scholar-athletes and hall of fame inductees will be guests of The Times-Gazette. Tickets for all others are $15 and can be reserved by calling Jeff Gilliland at 937-402-2522.

Past Scholar-Athlete Award winners include: Andrew Goolsby (Hillsboro) and Cali Hatten (Lynchburg-Clay); Aric Carroll (Hillsboro); Karen Hilt (Lynchburg-Clay) and Luis Rivas (McClain); Morgan Dettwiller (McClain); Tara Karnes (McClain); Trey Moberly (Hillsboro) and Kiley Sosby (Whiteoak); and Devin Pierson (Lynchburg-Clay).

Past hall of fame inductees include: Joe Crawford, William “Buck” Ewing, James “Jimmy” Hull, Raymond “Dutch” Purdin, Bill Uhl Sr., Kip Young, Paul Cluxton, Linda Hatten-Fittro, Joe Hiestand, Don Grate, Dante Jackson, Ernie Blankenship, Jim Cook, Dennis Overstake, Rick Van Matre, Jon Cole, Kevin Greer, Whitney Lewis, Otis Wagner, Angie (Roush) Bogart, Audra Cook-Branham, Terry McConnaughey, Mark Pierson, Danny Long, Sarah (Hull) Marietta, Glenn Moberly, T.J. Turner, Bob Bergstrom, Jesse Mount, Galen Neal and Craig Unger.

Reach Jeff Gilliland at 937-402-2522 or on Twitter @13gillilandj.
Times-Gazette seeking nominations for 8th annual banquet

By Jeff Gilliland

[email protected]