22 nominated for Times-Gazette Scholar-Athlete

Deadline has been extended to June 18

By Jeff Gilliland - [email protected]

Twenty-two seniors have been nominated for the 2017 Times-Gazette Scholar-Athlete Award and the newspaper is extending the deadline to submit nominations until Sunday, June 18.

Those nominated so far include: from Fairfield High School – Jesse Current, Jensen Daulton, William Klay Walker, Dillon Burley and Wyatt Evans; from Hillsboro High School – Caitlin Ahrmann, Sajoun Jones, Hope Tira and Lillian Van Zant; from Lynchburg-Clay High School – Brittany Ernst, Alexis Waits, Hannah Binkley and McKayla Binkley; from McClain High School – Tyler Jackson, Kaylee Hurley, Taylor Polley, Mackenzie Anderson, Mat Barton, Molly Rowe and Nichols Wells; and from Whiteoak High School – Alexis Jones and Maggie Carr.

If someone feels they have nominated someone that does not appear on this list, contact Jeff Gilliland at 937-402-2522.

Each head varsity coach from Highland County can nominate one senior scholar-athlete for the award for each sport they coached. The senior must have lettered in one sport or cheerleading during their senior year and have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or above. The nominations will be judged by an anonymous committee on the nominee’s academic and athletic achievements, as well as their community service. Coaches are reminded that the nominees are judged largely on their nomination form, so as much information as possible should be included from all three areas.

Nomination forms are available at The Times-Gazette offices or by emailing [email protected] They can be submitted to the same address or at The Times-Gazette offices at 108 Gov. Trimble Place, Hillsboro.

The scholar-athletes and the coach that nominated them will be the guests of The Times-Gazette at a dinner banquet scheduled for 6 p.m. Thursday, June 22 at the Ponderosa Banquet Center in Hillsboro. The banquet is open to the public and all other tickets are $16 each. Tickets can be reserved by calling Jeff Gilliland at the above number.

The scholar-athletes will all be recognized at the banquet and one will receive the 2017 Times-Gazette Scholar-Athlete Award and a $200 scholarship and plaque that goes with it.

Also being honored at the banquet will be The Times-Gazette 2017 Highland County Athletic Hall of Fame inductees. They include the 1927-28 Marshall Class “B” state champion basketball team – the only Highland County team to ever win a state title, 1909 Hillsboro High School graduate Ed Ayres, Lynchburg-Clay product Andy Richmond and Fairfield High School’s Tom Purtell.

This is the eighth year The Times-Gazette has honored hall of fame inductees and the county’s top scholar-athletes.

Past Scholar-Athlete Award winners – there was a tie three years – include: Andrew Goolsby (Hillsboro) and Cali Hatten (Lynchburg-Clay); Aric Carroll (Hillsboro); Karen Hilt (Lynchburg-Clay) and Luis Rivas (McClain); Morgan Dettwiller (McClain); Tara Karnes (McClain); Trey Moberly (Hillsboro) and Kiley Sosby (Whiteoak), and Devin Pierson (Lynchburg-Clay).

Reach Jeff Gilliland at 937-402-2522 or on Twitter @13gillilandj.

Deadline has been extended to June 18

By Jeff Gilliland

[email protected]