Times-Gazette will honor 28 scholar-athletes

Hall of fame inductees will also be honored at Thursday banquet

By Jeff Gilliland - [email protected]

A total of 28 Highland County class of 2017 seniors have been nominated for the eighth annual Times-Gazette Highland County Scholar-Athlete Award and are invited to a dinner/banquet to celebrate their accomplishments at 6 p.m. this Thursday at the Ponderosa Banquet Center in Hillsboro.

The nominees and the varsity coaches who nominated them will be the guests of The Times-Gazette at the banquet. The event is open to the public. Tickets are $16 each and can be reserved by calling Jeff Gilliland at 937-402-2522.

The 28 scholar-athletes who have been nominated for the award are:

• Caitlin Ahrmann, Hillsboro

• Mackenzie Anderson, McClain

• Mat Barton, McClain

• Hannah Binkley, Lynchburg-Clay

• McKayla Binkley, Lynchburg-Clay

• Dillon Burley, Fairfield

• Maggie Carr, Whiteoak

• Jesse Current, Fairfield

• Jensen Daulton, Fairfield

• Brittany Ernst, Lynchburg-Clay

• Wyatt Evans, Fairfield

• Kaylee Hurley, McClain

• Tyler Jackson, McClain

• Ethan Johnson, McClain

• Alexis Jones, Whiteoak

• Sajoun Jones, Hillsboro

• Hayley McConnaughey, Lynchburg-Clay

• Veronica Olaker, McClain

• Maria Onusko, McClain

• Tristan Pitzer, McClain

• Taylor Polley, McClain

• Molly Rowe, McClain

• Kourtnie Smith, Fairfield

• Hope Tira, Hillsboro

• Lillian Van Zant, Hillsboro

• Alexis Waits, Lynchburg-Clay

• William Klay Walker, Fairfield

• Nicholas Wells, McClain

Each scholar-athlete will receive an award and one will be announced at the banquet as the winner of The Times-Gazette 2017 Highland County Scholar-Athlete Award. The winner will receive a $200 scholarship and a plaque.

Each varsity head coach in Highland County was offered the chance to nominate one student-athlete for the award for each sport they coached. The nominee’s should have lettered in one sport during their senior year and have a 3.0 or better cumulative grade point average. Community service is also considered when determining the winner.

Also honored at the banquet will be this year’s inductees into The Times-Gazette Highland County Athletic Hall of Fame. They are 1909 Hillsboro High School graduate Ed Ayres, 1969 Fairfield High School graduate Tom Purtell, 1970 Lynchburg-Clay High School graduate Andy Richmond, and the 1928 Marshall High School Class “B” state championship basketball team.

This is the eighth consecutive year The Times-Gazette has honored hall of fame inductees and the county’s top scholar-athletes.

Past Times-Gazette Highland County Scholar-Athlete Award winners – there was a tie three years – include: Andrew Goolsby (Hillsboro) and Cali Hatten (Lynchburg-Clay); Aric Carroll (Hillsboro); Karen Hilt (Lynchburg-Clay) and Luis Rivas (McClain); Morgan Dettwiller (McClain); Tara Karnes (McClain); Trey Moberly (Hillsboro) and Kiley Sosby (Whiteoak), and Devin Pierson (Lynchburg-Clay).

Reach Jeff Gilliland at 937-402-2522 or [email protected]

Hall of fame inductees will also be honored at Thursday banquet

By Jeff Gilliland

[email protected]