2015 ballot packed with local races

Former sheriff running; big interest in Lynchburg

By Gary Abernathy - [email protected]

Former Highland County Sheriff Ron Ward is running for Liberty Township trustee this fall against former Hillsboro High School football standout Tyler Kelch.

Meanwhile, local resident Kay Barrera is running unopposed to take over the Liberty Township fiscal officer position long held by Jolene Walker, who is not seeking reelection.

Also declining to seek reelection is Liberty Township trustee Jerry Williams, paving the way for the Ward-Kelch matchup.

All filings are tentative pending certification Monday morning by the Highland County Board of Elections.

In addition to Hillsboro voters deciding the mayoral race between incumbent Republican Drew Hastings and Democratic challenger Pam Limes, voters across Highland County will make decisions in various municipal, school district and township races in November. Seven local issues could appear on various ballots, mostly in Clay Township, if they are certified on Monday.

The filing deadline for nonpartisan offices was Aug. 5. While Hillsboro city races are partisan contests, elections in Highland County’s villages, school districts and townships are considered nonpartisan, and candidates in those races do not run as Republicans, Democrats or any other party affiliation.

Several contested races will appear on ballots this fall, including contests for mayor in Leesburg, Mowrystown and the village of Highland, as well as a three-candidate race for mayor of Lynchburg.

In Lynchburg, incumbent mayor Gary Jones is being challenged by Terry Burden and Tim Heizer, a former Lynchburg police chief who was laid off by Jones. The police controversy in Lynchburg and other issues have also led to eight candidates running for four available council seats in the village.

In Mowrystown, former Hillsboro City Council member Bonnie Parr is challenging longtime mayor Frank Terwilliger. But in Sinking Spring, no one filed for open seats for mayor and two council spots. In Leesburg, Mayor Danny Daulton is not seeking reelection.

In the Hillsboro City School Board race where two seats are to be filled, incumbent Terry Britton is seeking reelection, but Jerry Walker, who is also coming to the end of his term, did not file for reelection. However, Walker’s fellow longtime teacher Tom Milbery has filed to run, as has Michael Salyer, a former Marine who sought a seat on the board four years ago.

The deadline to register to vote is Oct. 5, and early voting begins on Oct. 6 for the Nov. 3 General Election.

Following is the list of filings provided Friday by the election board. Incumbents are denoted by (i).

Hillsboro mayor: Drew Hastings (i), Republican, Pam Limes, Democrat.

Hillsboro law director: Fred Beery (i), Republican.

Hillsboro auditor: Gary Lewis (i), Republican.

The following races are considered nonpartisan.

Greenfield council-at-large (3 seats): Bob Bergstrom (i), Chris Borreson, Mark Clyburn, William Redenbaugh (i).

Village of Highland mayor (1 seat): Jeremy Kibbey (i), Henry Smith.

Village of Highland council (2 seats): Donald Davy, Darlene Ervin (i).

Village of Leesburg mayor (1 seat): Wendy Holliday, Freddie Snyder.

Village of Leesburg council (2 seats): Jeremy Cannon, Shawn Priest, Wesley Willey.

Village of Lynchburg mayor: Terry Burden, Timothy Heizer, Gary Jones (i).

Village of Lynchburg council (2 seats): Marty Bailey (i), James Burton, Terry Moore, Kevin Radcliffe, Kevin Whitenack.

Village of Lynchburg council unexpired term (2 seats): Judy Davis, Chris Green, Tagg Pendleton.

Village of Mowrystown mayor: Bonnie Parr, Frank Terwilliger (i).

Village of Mowrystown council (2 seats): Jan Cooper (i).

Bright Local School District board (3 seats): Mike Ames (i), Tammy Hauke (i).

Fairfield Local School District board (3 seats): Scott Bates (i), Jeff Burleson, Ron Friend (i), Mary Haag, Arthur Rigsby, Jennifer Waterman, Shawn Willey.

Greenfield Exempted Village School District board (2 seats): Jason Allison (i), Greg Barr (i), Sandy Free.

Hillsboro City School District board (2 seats): Terry Britton (i), Tom Milbery, Michael Salyer.

Lynchburg-Clay Local School District (3 seats): Bobbie Jo Ernst, Brad Hess (i), Chad McConnaughey (i).

Each township in Highland County has one trustee seat and the fiscal officer position up for election this year.

Brushcreek Township: Trustee: David Chaney (i). Fiscal officer: Betty McElwee (i).

Clay Township: Trustee: Jim Massey (i). Fiscal officer: Pat Winkle (i).

Concord Township: Trustee: Gary Shannon (i). Fiscal officer: Karen Schroeder (i).

Dodson Township: Trustee: Marvin Resibois (i). Fiscal officer: Kristy Warner, Gary West.

Fairfield Township: Trustee: Andy Caldwell (i). Fiscal officer: Patrick Hagen (i).

Hamer Township: Trustee: Nathan Mootz (i). Fiscal officer: Kim Walker (i).

Jackson Township: Trustee: Doug Crum, Jerry Miller Jr., Stephen Waits. Fiscal officer: Chris Michael, Carleta Weyrich (i).

Liberty Township: Trustee: Tyler Kelch, Ronald Ward. Fiscal officer: Kay Barrera.

Madison Township: Trustee: Dan Mathews (i). Fiscal officer: Sherri Beatty (i).

Marshall Township: Trustee: Jeff Patton (i). Fiscal officer: Sonya Blankenship (i).

New Market Township: Trustee: Nick Bare, Wayne Harless. Fiscal officer: Dick Barrera (i).

Paint Township: Trustee: Randy Mustard (i). Fiscal officer: Joshua Matthews (i).

Penn Township: Trustee: Daryl Bumgarner (i). Trustee unexpired term: Tony Cannon, Jay Duncan. Fiscal officer: Jason Davis (i).

Salem Township: Trustee: Dave Hamilton, Jonathan Mootz (i), Chad Pitzer. Fiscal officer: Becky Sanderson, Jamie Wells.

Union Township: Trustee: Nathan Brown (i). Fiscal officer: Peggy Hite (i).

Washington Township: Trustee: Arthur Harless (i). Fiscal officer: Vic Gall (i).

Whiteoak Township: Trustee: Fred Yochum (i). Fiscal officer: Wayne Ferguson (i).

The following issues have been filed to appear on various ballots if they are certified Monday by the election board.

Clay Township cemetery renewal, 0.5 mill, 5 years (50-Clay).

Clay Township fire renewal, 1.5 mills, 5 years (50-Clay).

Liberty Township cemetery additional, 0.1 mill, 5 years (61-Liberty NE, 62-Liberty NW, 63-Liberty S).

Flagway 16-Local Option (Sunday sales beer) (01-Greenfield North).

Buford Convenient Mart-Local Option (beer, wine and mixed beverages) (50-Clay).

Buford Convenient Mart-Local Option (Sunday sales-wine and mixed beverages) (50-Clay).

Catch 22 Sports Pub – Local Option (Sunday sales) (10-Greenfield South).

Reach Gary Abernathy at 937-393-3456 or on Twitter @abernathygary.

Former sheriff running; big interest in Lynchburg

By Gary Abernathy

[email protected]