Brown re-elected Farm Bureau president

The Highland County Farm Bureau annual meeting was held Tuesday, Aug. 11, at the Creekview Barn.

Approximately 100 members and guests enjoyed a delicious buffet dinner catered by Ponderosa of Hillsboro.

During the business meeting, which followed the dinner, approval was given to several new and revised proposed policies. These will go on to the state to be voted on by the delegates from each county.

Nathan Brown, Lee Walker, Dave Bushelman and Amy Hamilton were re-elected as trustees. Also, Ken Friedman, Dylan Dobbs and Connie Nielson were elected to serve as new trustees.

Nathan Brown, Evan Davis, Amy Hamilton and Rudi Perry will serve as delegates to the 2016 OFBF Annual Meeting. Lee Walker and Virginia Purdy will serve as alternates.

Scholarship winners Thomas Free, Julie Nichole Arnett, Dustin Willey and Robert Miller were recognized.

President Nathan Brown recognized the board members and Action Team Leaders and presented a small token of thanks to each of them.

State trustees Craig Adams and Andra Troyer gave updates on the happenings at the state and national levels.

Pam Bushelman of the Highland Soil & Water Conservation District talked about the joint farm tour event coming up on Sept. 19. She also handed out a survey to assist HSWCD with its five-year plan.

The program was then turned over to Chief Dave Manning of the Lynchburg Fire Department who spoke about the successful grain bin rescue by the Grain Bin Rescue Team.

The 2015-2016 officers are president, Nathan Brown; vice president, Lee Walker; and secretary, Amy Hamilton.

The 2015-2016 Action Team Leaders will be communications, Dave Bushelman; membership, Nathan Brown; organization, Jim Faust; and public policy, Tim Sheeley.

Several door prizes were awarded at the conclusion of the meeting.

Submitted by David Bushelman.