PV ADAMH announces essay contest winners

Submitted story

During Red Ribbon Week, observed Oct. 22-26, the Paint Valley Alcohol, Drug and Mental Health Board sponsored “Write In Red,” an essay contest for all middle and high school students in the board’s region.

Students were given a red pen to write an essay for the contest about how to prevent drug and alcohol abuse. Each participating middle and high school submitted their school’s winning essay to the Paint Valley ADAMH Board. One student from each county was selected to receive a $500 scholarship to any accredited college or university.

“We are pleased to announce that the following students were awarded a $100 prize for winning their school’s essay contest and a $500 scholarship for winning the county contest,” the board said in a news release.

Laci Mulenkamp, Fairfield High School – Highland County

Mackenzie Shaffer, Washington High School – Fayette County

Nataleigh Blankenship, Eastern Middle School – Pike County

Jalynne Nichols, Unioto High School – Ross County

Paint Valley ADAMH Board Executive Director Penny Dehner said in the release that 2018 is the fifth year for the scholarship contest.

“We were extremely pleased with the number of entries we received,” Dehner said. “Substance abuse is a community issue that affects all of us, especially our youth. It is so refreshing to see our youth take a proactive stand against drug and alcohol abuse by sharing their personal stories, doing research into relevant issues, and their determination to remain drug-free.”

The following students were school winners and awarded $100 for the Write In Red essay contest:

Sydney Hooper, Fairfield Middle School

Makayla Middleton, Hillsboro High School

Isabella Patton, Hillsboro Middle School

Carson Emery, White Oak Middle School

Kallie Helton, Eastern High School

Olivia Cornwell, Piketon High School

Trace Schoolcraft, Piketon Middle School

Brystol Murphy, Waverly High School

Chase Grooms, Western High School Gracie Satterfield, Western Middle School

Madelyn Schafer, Chillicothe High School

Maddox Woods, Chillicothe Middle School

Hannah Balusik, Huntington High School

Mack Steele, Huntington Middle School

Savannah Fout, Southeastern Middle School

Wyatt Perry, Southeastern High School

Karan Watkins, Unioto Middle School

Jayden Berry, Zane Trace High School

Paint Valley ADAMH Board is a political subdivision of state government created in 1967 by the Ohio legislature to ensure the availability of community-based addiction and mental health services for the residents of Fayette, Highland, Pickaway, Pike and Ross Counties.

Submitted by Melinda Sheets, Paint Valley ADAMH Board public affairs coordinator.

Submitted story