Non-partisan ballot set for various Highland County races


Six candidates are running for two available seats on the Liberty Township board of Trustees, while two villages couldn’t muster any candidates at all for eight available seats in council races in the Nov. 7 elections.

In Liberty Township, incumbents James Grove and John McLaughlin are facing off against Jerry Williams, Douglas Barker, Tyler Kelch and Ray Walker for two available seats.

But no candidates filed for the village council races in Mowrystown or Sinking Spring, where four seats are up for election in each village.

Races on the November ballot for township trustee, village councils and school board districts are all considered non-partisan, unlike Hillsboro city races which are also on this year’s ballot and where candidates go through the Republican and Democratic Party primary processes, unless they run as unaffiliated.

This year’s non-partisan races stack up as follows according to the Highland County Board of Elections, with incumbents noted by an (i).

Village councils

Greenfield (2 seats): Eric Borsini, Phil Clyburn (i), Brenda Losey (i).

Highland (4 seats): Dianna Lynn Baker (i), Patricia Gilliland (i), Nathaniel Hawkins, Jeremy Kibbey (i), Aaron Ludwick.

Leesburg (4 seats): John Michael, Chris Runyon (i), Richard Tolle (i).

Lynchburg (4 seats): Judy Lee Davis (i), Elizabeth Hamlin (i), David Minton, Tagg Pendleton (i), Trudi Tedrick.

Mowrystown (4 seats): No candidates filed.

Sinking Spring (4 seats): No candidates filed.

School boards

Bright Local (2 seats): Steven Cox, Angela K. Wright. Unexpired term ending 12-31-19 (1 seat): John D. Gillespie.

Fairfield Local (2 seats): James Craycraft (i), John Lawson, Rindy L. Matthews (i).

Greenfield Exempted (3 seats): Amy Ernst, Marilyn Mitchell (i), Charley Roman, Eric Zint (i).

Hillsboro City Schools (3 seats): Doug Ernst, Larry Lyons, Beverly Rhoads, Jerry Walker. Unexpired term ending 12-31-19 (1 seat): William H. Myers. Note: Ernst and Lyons are currently serving on the board through appointments. Myers is a current board member but is running for the unexpired term left by Terry Britton’s election as county commissioner.

Lynchburg-Clay (2 seats): Kristen L. Greenawalt, Gary West (i).

Township Trustees (all with 2 to be elected)

Brushcreek: David T. Cruea (i), Danny McBee (i).

Clay: Kenneth L. Bohl (i), William Brett Glover (i), Glenn Watson II.

Concord: Jason Campbell (i), Tony Gulley (i).

Dodson: Randy Mitchell (i), Ty Smith (i).

Fairfield: Michael Pfister (i), Kenneth Stevens (i).

Hamer: Jon Holbrook (i), Bruce Leininger (i).

Jackson: Chad Frazer (i), Brad Hart (i).

Liberty: Douglas Barker, James Grove (i), Tyler Kelch, John McLaughlin (i), Ray Walker, Jerry Williams.

Madison: Bruce Baird (i), Charles Buck (i), Brent Johnson.

Marshall: Tim Sheeley (i), Clinton Shoemaker (i).

New Market: Kenny Harless (i), Thomas Juillerat (i).

Paint: Jason Hinkle, Steven Karnes (i), Corey J. Miller (i).

Penn: Jay Duncan (i), Derek Watson (i).

Salem: John R. Roush, Zach Sandlin, Shane Simmons (i), Neal Van Saun.

Union: John Henize (i), Joseph Fraysier (i).

Washington: Michael Countryman (i), Travis Mootz (i).

Whiteoak: Charles Bratton (i), John Stephan (i).


Voters will see two state issues on the ballot, Issue 1 called Marcy’s Law, a crime victim bill of rights, and Issue 2, the Drug Price Relief Act.

Local issues include: a Sinking Spring renewal of a 4 mill, five year levy for current expenses; a Brushcreek Township renewal of a 2 mill, five year levy for fire protection; a Union Township additional cemetery levy of 0.5 mills for five years; and a local option in Hillsboro Southeast 23 precinct for Big Ernie’s to have Sunday sales of alcohol.

.neFileBlock {
margin-bottom: 20px;
.neFileBlock p {
margin: 0px 0px 0px 0px;
.neFileBlock .neFile {
border-bottom: 1px dotted #aaa;
padding-bottom: 5px;
padding-top: 10px;
.neFileBlock .neCaption {
font-size: 85%;

The Times-Gazette

No posts to display