27,781 registered to vote in county; councils, school boards, trustees on ballot


With the close of voter registration on Oct. 10, Highland County has 27,781 voters registered for the Nov. 7 General Election, according to local election board statistics.

Among those are 17,896 non-affiliated, or independent, voters, 7,826 Republicans and 2,059 Democrats.

In Hillsboro, where, technically, the only partisan races are happening this year with city races, there are 4,347 registered voters, including 2,845 non-affiliated, 1,061 Republican and 441 Democrat voters.

In Ohio, voters can also register as members of the Constitution, Green, Libertarian and Socialist parties, but no Highland Countians are currently registered with any of those parties, according to election board statistics. Those who register as “other” are included in non-affiliated voter stats.

While the only party-affiliated races this year are in Hillsboro for city council, treasurer and municipal court judge, a number of other races – all technically non-partisan — are on the ballot this year, including village councils, township trustees and school boards. State and local issues will also appear on the ballot.

Early voting began Wednesday in Ohio. The hours of operation for early in-person voting at the local election board office located at the Hi-Tec Center in Hillsboro are:

• Weeks one, two and three, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

• Week four, 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday through Friday; 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. on the Saturday before Election Day; 1 p.m. to 5 p.m. on the Sunday before Election Day.

• Week of Election Day – 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. on Monday, Nov. 6.

Hillsboro city candidates on the ballot this year, with incumbents noted by (i), are:

• Municipal Court Judge: David H. McKenna (i), Democrat.

• President of Council: Lee Koogler (i), Republican.

• City Treasurer: Patricia Burns, Democrat, Amy Robinson, Republican.

• Council-at-Large (3 to be elected): Brandon Leeth, Democrat; Tracy Aranyos (i) Republican (currently represents Ward 3); Justin Harsha (i), Republican; Ann E. Morris (i), Republican.

• Council Ward 1: Rob Smith, Democrat; Adam Wilkin, Republican.

• Council Ward 2: Jason L. Burns, Democrat; Claudia Klein (i), Republican.

• Council Ward 3: Tim Countryman, Democrat. Wendy Culbreath, Republican.

• Council Ward 4: Mary B. Stanforth, Democrat; Jason Grove, Republican.

This year’s non-partisan races stack up as follows, with incumbents noted by an (i).

Village councils

Greenfield (2 seats): Eric Borsini, Phil Clyburn (i), Brenda Losey (i).

Highland (4 seats): Dianna Lynn Baker (i), Patricia Gilliland (i), Nathaniel Hawkins, Jeremy Kibbey (i), Aaron Ludwick.

Leesburg (4 seats): John Michael, Chris Runyon (i), Richard Tolle (i).

Lynchburg (4 seats): Judy Lee Davis (i), Elizabeth Hamlin (i), David Minton, Tagg Pendleton (i), Trudi Tedrick.

Mowrystown (4 seats): No candidates filed.

Sinking Spring (4 seats): No candidates filed.

School boards

Bright Local (2 seats): Steven Cox, Angela K. Wright. Unexpired term ending 12-31-19 (1 seat): John D. Gillespie.

Fairfield Local (2 seats): James Craycraft (i), John Lawson, Rindy L. Matthews (i).

Greenfield Exempted (3 seats): Amy Ernst, Marilyn Mitchell (i), Charley Roman, Eric Zint (i).

Hillsboro City Schools (3 seats): Doug Ernst, Larry Lyons, Beverly Rhoads, Jerry Walker. Unexpired term ending 12-31-19 (1 seat): William H. Myers. Note: Ernst and Lyons are currently serving on the board through appointments. Myers is a current board member but is running for the unexpired term left by Terry Britton’s election as county commissioner.

Lynchburg-Clay (2 seats): Kristen L. Greenawalt, Gary West (i).

Township Trustees (all with 2 to be elected)

Brushcreek: David T. Cruea (i), Danny McBee (i).

Clay: Kenneth L. Bohl (i), William Brett Glover (i), Glenn Watson II.

Concord: Jason Campbell (i), Tony Gulley (i).

Dodson: Randy Mitchell (i), Ty Smith (i).

Fairfield: Michael Pfister (i), Kenneth Stevens (i).

Hamer: Jon Holbrook (i), Bruce Leininger (i).

Jackson: Chad Frazer (i), Brad Hart (i).

Liberty: Douglas Barker, James Grove (i), Tyler Kelch, John McLaughlin (i), Ray Walker, Jerry Williams.

Madison: Bruce Baird (i), Charles Buck (i), Brent Johnson.

Marshall: Tim Sheeley (i), Clinton Shoemaker (i).

New Market: Kenny Harless (i), Thomas Juillerat (i).

Paint: Jason Hinkle, Steven Karnes (i), Corey J. Miller (i).

Penn: Jay Duncan (i), Derek Watson (i).

Salem: John R. Roush, Zach Sandlin, Shane Simmons (i), Neal Van Saun.

Union: John Henize (i), Joseph Fraysier (i).

Washington: Michael Countryman (i), Travis Mootz (i).

Whiteoak: Charles Bratton (i), John Stephan (i).


Voters will see two state issues on the ballot, Issue 1 called Marcy’s Law, a crime victim bill of rights, and Issue 2, the Drug Price Relief Act.

Local issues include: a Sinking Spring renewal of a 4 mill, five year levy for current expenses; a Brushcreek Township renewal of a 2 mill, five year levy for fire protection; a Union Township additional cemetery levy of 0.5 mills for five years; and a local option in Hillsboro Southeast 23 precinct for Big Ernie’s to have Sunday sales of alcohol.

Reach Gary Abernathy at 937-393-3456 or by email at [email protected].


By Gary Abernathy

[email protected]

No posts to display