FSA county committee election underway


Elections for the USDA’s Farm Service Agency’s (FSA) Highland County Committee are underway.

It is important that every eligible producer participate in these elections because FSA county committees are a link between the agricultural community and the USDA. Farmers selected to county committees help deliver FSA programs at the local level, applying their knowledge and judgment to make decisions on commodity price support programs, conservation programs, incentive indemnity and disaster programs for some commodities, emergency programs and eligibility. FSA committees operate within official regulations designed to carry out federal laws.

The 2018 election in Highland County will be conducted for the representative Local Administrative Area (LAA): #1, which is made up of the following townships: Brushcreek, Concord, Jackson, Marshall and Washington.

Timothy D. Mootz and Phillip Burchett have been nominated in LAA #1, Highland County, to serve as a committee member. Mootz lives in Concord Township and produces corn, soybeans and hay. Burchett lives in Brushcreek township, where he raises hay, pasture and Angus cattle.

Eligible voters in local administrative area #1 who do not receive ballots in the coming week can obtain ballots from their local USDA Service Center. County committee election ballots were mailed to eligible voters on Nov. 5, 2018. The last day to return completed ballots to the Highland County USDA Service Center is Dec. 3.

The newly elected committee member will take office Jan. 1, 2019.

For more information on eligibility to serve on FSA county committees, visit: www.fsa.usda.gov/elections.

Submitted by Lindy Blankenship, Highland County Farm Service Agency acting county executive director.

Submitted story

No posts to display