McClain grad awarded $30,000 scholarship


Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine student Kristen (Free) White has been selected to receive a $30,000 Primary Care Medical Student Choose Ohio First Scholarship (PCMS-COF) for the 2016-17 academic year.

White is a fourth-year medical student from Greenfield and a graduate of McClain High School.

The PCMS-COF program was created in 2010 with the passage of Ohio HB 198, Ohio’s patient-centered medical home legislation. The Ohio General Assembly appropriated funding for the program in the current biennial budget. Under PCMS-COF, 50 medical students throughout Ohio can receive up to $120,000 in scholarship funding over their four-year medical education. Recipients are selected from Case Western Reserve University, Northeast Ohio Medical University, Ohio University, Ohio State University, University of Toledo, University of Cincinnati and Wright State University.

Scholarship recipients must be Ohio residents. They must show a commitment to community service. They also must commit to a residency in family medicine, primary care internal medicine, primary care pediatrics or combined internal medicine and pediatrics. After completing the residency, each recipient must agree to practice full time in Ohio for at least three years in primary care (family medicine, internal medicine, pediatrics, medicine/pediatrics or family medicine/psychiatry). As primary care physicians, they must serve Medicaid patients.

White plans to become a pediatrician. She is passionate about the continuity of care and the relationships that develop in primary medicine. She wants to collaborate with teachers, administrators and school nurses about childhood nutrition and follow up with them about patients who require medication at school, whether for diabetes or attention deficit hyperactivity disorder.

“In pediatrics, many generations of a family are a part of the patient’s care, and these social aspects always should be considered and incorporated into a treatment plan,” White said. “Pediatric patients in Ohio are in great need of quality care from birth that can influence the track of their education, adult health status and social outcomes.”

Gary LeRoy, M.D., associate dean for student affairs and admissions at the Boonshoft School of Medicine, said the medical students who received the scholarships are outstanding students who value patient-focused care, community service and research.

“We’re honored that five of our medical students were chosen to receive the Primary Care Medical Student Choose Ohio First Scholarships,” LeRoy said. “These medical students have a passion for improving health care in their communities. They will help strengthen the quality of primary care in Ohio.”

Submitted by Heather Maurer, marketing communications manager, Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine.


Submitted story

No posts to display