Free student lunches for 4 years


Hillsboro students will receive free breakfasts and lunches through the next four school years and a middle school robotics team finished in the top 1.5 percent in the world, according to reports at Monday’s Hillsboro Board of Education meeting.

District treasurer Ben Teeters said the free breakfasts and lunches come through a new Community Eligibility Program which provides the meals to all students at no cost. The program covers the cost of regular breakfasts and lunches, but does not include ala carte or extra items.

The cost of a second meal next year will be $2.50 for breakfast and $3 for lunch at the high school and middle school. At the elementary school a second lunch will cost $2.50 and no second breakfasts will be served. An extra milk will be 50 cents, an adult lunch will be $4.50 and an adult breakfast will be $2.50.

At the VEX World Robotics Competition in Dallas, Texas on April 28-30 the Hillsboro eighth grade team of Kainen Allen, Gaige Greer, Sam Hunt, Jayce Newton and Connor Yochum posted a 7-3 record, according to superintendent Tim Davis, and finished 22nd out of 80 teams. He said Hillsboro was eliminated in the round of 16 by the eventual world champions and that finish made them one of the top 1.5 percent of all similar robotics teams in the world.

“It’s a great testament to them and the hard work they put in,” Davis said.

In another matter, the board approved new bleachers that should be able to seat 300 for visitors side of the soccer facility. Davis said the new bleachers will be elevated with a ramp that is American Disabilities Act compliant, and that they will be identical to the home side bleachers with room for future expansion.

In his report to the board, Davis said Hillsboro High School will have 11 valedictorians, all with grade point averages above 4.3, when graduation is held Sunday at the high school. The 11 are: Scarlett Studebaker, McKenzie Gaines, Ramsey Haines, Halle Reveal, Garen Ryan, Maddisen Mikkelson, Rylie Scott, Reagan Eastes, Hannah Holland, Addyson Miles and Samantha Smith.

“It’s awesome to see that many kids excelling in their classes and college classes as well,” Davis said.

Teeters presented a semi-annual five-year forecast that showed the school district could face a deficit five years down the road if revenues do not increase. However, he also said he believes the state will come up with a formula for more funding within the next five years and that his anticipated revenue figures are conservative numbers while his expected expenses are usually higher than what they turn out to be.

The board approved 2024-25 supplemental contracts for the following: J.C. Captain, middle school girls basketball coach; Lehua Cooke, middle school volleyball; Chris Fauber, varsity assistant boys basketball; Ben Fouch, varsity assistant girls basketball; Jake Fouch, reserve girls basketball; Ben Howland, varsity boys soccer; Heather Jones, varsity volleyball; Blake Kibler, reserve boys basketball; Bruce Messer, middle school volleyball; Jessica Messer, reserve volleyball; Amanda Miller, varsity girls soccer; Lawton Parry, middle school boys basketball; Larry Scruggs, middle school girls basketball; Dan Snapp, reserve boys soccer; Samantha Whitenack, assistant girls soccer; Dustin Willey, middle school boys basketball; and Jordan Williamson, assistant volleyball.

The board accepted the following resignations: custodian Gary Garvie; teachers Chaise Hall, Brian Hughes, Gabrielle Lochbaum, Ashley Pollock and Garrett Ross; paraprofessionals Kirsten Harp and Beverly Hottle; counselor Susan Rhoads; school psychologists Kayleigh Robinson and Lola Royalty; and food service director Jessica Walker.

Reach Jeff Gilliland at 937-402-2522.

No posts to display